Gear Acquisition Syndrome – Is ignorance bliss?

I’ve been thinking about the value in buying new gear at this point in 2020.

My current thinking is that I’ve managed very well with the original Fujifilm X100 and the Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mk 1 cameras for a while now. Years, literally. They’ve proven to a be a good street/urban travel combo. But in South Africa I have changed my focus to travel and wildlife.

Those plans are on ice now thanks to the pandemic, so I’m shooting from home like so many of us.

I’ve started buying additional lenses for the O-MD and will add accessories as I go on. This is a sound strategy and is in line with my immediate photography goals. To learn more about using the systems I already have while photographing new subjects such as backyard birds, flowers, insects and a bit of urban astro.

I’d like a sharper telephoto than my 40-150 R. Definitely one with more reach. Maybe I have a bad sample or more likely it’s user error as I’m not yet comfortable working with a long zoom.

And maybe it’s also because I haven’t bought new equipment in a long while. I have nothing to compare.

Maybe if I saw my images shot with what I have side by side with images shot with brand new gear I would see a difference. Images shot at base ISO are probably comparable. But, diverging from that is where a contemporary camera will most likely take the lead.

And I am not just referring to the benefits in advancements in IQ. A modern AF will likely be noticeably better in Continuous and Low-Light performance given that I am now trying to shoot backyard BiF. Noticeably better thanks to the additional X-type PDAF sensor as opposed to the linear PDAF employed by the E-M1.1. Of course I need a lens that can leverage that.

Dynamic range will be better so my files should be more flexible during processing. Not convincing enough? Think about how much easier it would to clean a noisy high-ISO pic and then get back to me.

There is also the difference between 16mp and 20mp but it won’t amount to much – a slight advantage in terms of cropping and printing as it is a higher-MP camera.

I am considering upgrading to a used E-M5 III. It’s a good deal and may be cheaper than a used Em1 II. The question is, is it worth buying a new camera when I have barely scratched the surface in learning to use my E-M1? It may be the way to go as I have been considering an FZ1000 II new as an option, albeit costlier. The M5 III would be better in terms of AF, ISO, IQ and DR. It will also allow me shoot video (like the FZ1000.

I am considering adding a used PL 12-60/2.84 for long term use as a general walkaround and vlogging lens.

I am considering adding a used PL 50-200/2.84 / PL 100-400 / P 100-300 II / Zuiko 50-150/2.8 for better IQ and reach which will come in handy when I can finally get out there.

Yes, if I stay with my X100 and E-M1.1 I would be happier. As they say, ignorance is bliss when it comes to Gear Acquisition Syndrome

Leave a comment